Conference Confessions: Intimidating, yet Powerful.

 

CATI’s annual conference is coming up! (yay!) So, I thought this would be a perfect time to share how important it is to attend these type of conferences if you want to learn, grow and further your career.

There is a concept called “sharpening the shaw”, taken from a book written by Stephen Covey, which is one of the 7 Habits of Highly Effective People. This concept explains that you need to constantly preserve and enhance yourself since you are the greatest asset you have. Conferences help you learn from others that have been there, done that; they help you get inspired and come up with new ideas for your business and/or your personal growth; they help you improve your network: “you become who you associate with.”

I can write about one hundred pages of the benefits from attending conferences. However, since I do not feel like torturing you at this time (I am in a good mood today), I will tell you how attending my first CATI conference made a difference in my life. I promise it will be short and sweet.

I attended my first conference in 2016; I met about 10 people and exchanged cards;  one of these people referred me to an agency for a freelancing opportunity (thank you, Luz!); after I joined this agency, I met the owner; after I met the owner, I created a relationship with her; a few months later, I became the Marketing Director for this agency, hence landing my absolute dream job!

There you go. Simple and to the fact! Had I not attended the conference and met this person, there is no way I would have gotten this far, this fast. Not only that, but I met several other interpreters and translators that have been doing this for way longer than I have. They have been wonderful and are always willing to teach me, help me and guide me through my adventures.

Always be on the lookout for events that can help you grow personally, as a leader, as a business owner, as a professional, it doesn’t matter. You have to stay ahead of the game in order to standout and be your best. Conferences will certainly help you achieve continuous growth and excellence.

I cannot wait to see you all in April!

conference meme

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Conference, Events, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

