CATI Conference 2013: The Perspective of a First-Time Student Attendee, Part 1

I have returned from my first-ever CATI conference, and as a whole I think I can declare the experience a resounding success!

This year’s conference was held at Cape Fear Community College in Wilmington, NC.  I drove down the afternoon before and spent some time walking around the city.  I had a nice view of the USS North Carolina from my hotel window:

There's a battleship outside my window!

There’s a battleship outside my window!

My Expectations for the Conference

Having attended only one professional conference before—for the ISMTE or the International Society of Managing and Technical Editors—I was unsure of what to expect from this one.  The few expectations I did have were as follows:

  1. Meeting some fellow translators and interpreters, including my CATI mentor, Graciela White, who serves on the CATI Board of Directors and also as the conference chairperson for this year’s conference;
  2. Getting some particular questions answered at the Student Panel;
  3. Possibly handing out my resume and connecting with a few freelancers and hopefully some translation companies searching for new hires.

How did my expectations compare with the reality?  Stay tuned for Part 2 to find out!

–Samantha

 

This entry was posted in Conference, Events and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to CATI Conference 2013: The Perspective of a First-Time Student Attendee, Part 1

  1. Pingback: CATI Conference 2013: The Perspective of a First-Time Student Attendee, Part 2 | catiwebblog

Leave a Reply

